ICC Announces Schedule for T20 World Cup 2024 Warm-up Fixtures

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed the itinerary for the warm-up matches leading up to the T20 World Cup 2024, set to commence on June 1 in the West Indies and the USA. Among the highlights is Team India’s sole warm-up encounter against Bangladesh on June 1, with the venue yet to be finalized.

The 16 practice games will be held across various venues, including the Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium in Texas, Broward County Stadium in Florida, Queen’s Park Oval, and Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad & Tobago. Notably, South Africa will engage in an intra-squad game on May 29 in Florida.

Each warm-up match will follow the standard T20 format of 20 overs per side, allowing teams to field their complete squad of 15 players. The fixture between West Indies and Australia at Queen Park’s Oval in Trinidad & Tobago on May 30 is open to fans, offering a tantalizing glimpse of the tournament’s contenders in action.

The warm-up schedule kicks off on Monday, May 27, with clashes such as Canada versus Nepal at Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium and Oman facing Papua New Guinea at Brian Lara Cricket Academy. The following days will witness a series of exciting encounters, including Sri Lanka versus the Netherlands and Bangladesh against the host nation USA.

The warm-up period culminates on Saturday, June 1, with the highly anticipated match between Bangladesh and India, the defending champions of the T20 World Cup. The exact venue for this encounter is yet to be determined, adding an element of anticipation to the buildup.

England enters the T20 World Cup 2024 as the defending champions, having secured victory over Pakistan in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground two years prior. As cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the start of the tournament, the warm-up fixtures promise to provide a glimpse of the teams’ form and strategies ahead of the main event.

Google News

Latest Stories

Related Articles

You May Like: