January 19: A Date Engraved in Team India’s Test Triumphs Abroad

Over the years, Team India has achieved remarkable success in Test matches on foreign soil, with their most unforgettable victories occurring on Australian turf. The Indian cricket team, renowned for its dominance in Test cricket, particularly showcased its prowess on January 19. Notably, two significant triumphs against Australia unfolded on this date, breaking the host nation’s pride.

The initial breakthrough transpired 13 years before the historic 2021 win, precisely in 2008 at the WACA cricket stadium in Perth. Under the captaincy of Anil Kumble, Team India defied expectations and conquered the world’s fastest cricket stadium. This victory laid the foundation for India’s growing prowess in overseas Test matches.

Fast forward to January 19, 2021, and Team India scripted another chapter in their foreign conquests, this time at the Gabba ground in Brisbane. Despite the absence of key players such as captain Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami, India showcased resilience.

After Australia posted 369 runs, debutant T Natarajan and Washington Sundar, along with Shardul Thakur, took crucial wickets. Sundar’s (62) and Shardul’s (67) partnership of 123 runs propelled Team India to a total of 336, marking yet another triumphant January 19 in their cricketing history.

Google News

Latest Stories

Related Articles

You May Like: