Know KKR’s Playoff Record: A Tale of Victories

The stage is set for an electrifying encounter as the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) gear up to take on the SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) in Qualifier 1 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. Scheduled to be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Tuesday, May 21, this clash promises to be a thrilling spectacle for cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

KKR, who clinched the top spot on the points table after securing nine victories and accumulating 20 points in 14 matches, are set to face SRH, who finished second with eight wins and 17 points from their 14 games. The stakes are high as both teams aim to secure a spot in the final and inch closer to IPL glory.

For KKR, this playoff match holds special significance as it marks their return to the playoff stage after narrowly missing out on the title in the 2021 season, where they faced defeat against the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the final. With a rich history in the IPL, having been crowned champions twice before, KKR enters this crucial encounter with confidence and determination.

As Kolkata prepares to lock horns with Hyderabad, let’s take a trip down memory lane and revisit some memorable playoff victories for the Knight Riders over the years:

Qualifier 1 2012: KKR vs DC (KKR won by 18 runs)

In a thrilling encounter, KKR emerged victorious against Delhi Capitals (formerly Delhi Daredevils) by 18 runs. Yusuf Pathan’s explosive innings and disciplined bowling effort propelled KKR to victory, setting the tone for their playoff campaign.

Final 2012: KKR vs CSK (KKR won by 5 wickets)

In a dramatic showdown against CSK, KKR showcased their resilience and skill to clinch the title. Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis played pivotal roles in KKR’s triumph, etching their names in IPL history.

Qualifier 1 2014: KKR vs PBKS (KKR won by 28 runs)

Facing Punjab Kings (formerly Kings XI Punjab) in the qualifier, KKR delivered a commanding performance to secure a convincing 28-run victory. This win propelled them towards yet another successful campaign in the IPL.

Final 2014: KKR vs PBKS (KKR won by 3 wickets)

In a nail-biting final clash against PBKS, KKR displayed nerves of steel to chase down a challenging target and clinch their second IPL title. Manish Pandey’s heroic innings and Piyush Chawla’s cool demeanor under pressure were instrumental in KKR’s triumph.

Eliminator 2017: KKR vs SRH (KKR won by 7 wickets)

KKR showcased their dominance in the eliminator stage by securing a convincing seven-wicket victory against SRH. Gautam Gambhir’s leadership and Nathan Coulter-Nile’s stellar bowling performance were key factors in KKR’s success.

Eliminator 2018: KKR vs RR (KKR won by 25 runs)

In another impressive display, KKR emerged victorious against Rajasthan Royals in the eliminator. Dinesh Karthik’s captain’s knock and a disciplined bowling effort propelled KKR towards a comprehensive 25-run win.

With a rich history of playoff successes, KKR enters the IPL 2024 Qualifier 1 clash against SRH with confidence and determination. As cricket fans eagerly anticipate this thrilling encounter, all eyes will be on the Narendra Modi Stadium as these two formidable teams battle it out for a place in the final showdown.

Google News

Latest Stories

Related Articles

You May Like: