Kolkata Knight Riders Clinch Third IPL Title with Dominant Win Over SRH

In a spectacular display of cricketing prowess, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) secured their third Indian Premier League (IPL) title with a crushing eight-wicket victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in a completely one-sided final on Sunday.

Clinical Bowling Performance

Having lost the toss, KKR were tasked with bowling first. They produced a clinical effort, dismissing SRH for a mere 113 runs, the lowest-ever total in an IPL title clash. Mitchell Starc, Andre Russell, and Harshit Rana were instrumental in KKR’s dominant bowling performance.

  • Mitchell Starc: 2/14
  • Andre Russell: 3/19
  • Harshit Rana: 2/24

The Knight Riders’ bowlers were relentless, ensuring SRH never found their footing. Starc set the tone early, dismissing Abhishek Sharma with a delivery that uprooted the off stump. He followed it up by removing Rahul Tripathi, reducing SRH to a precarious 21/3 within the first five overs.

Harshit Rana then continued the momentum, dismissing Nitish Reddy for 13. Andre Russell joined the party, claiming the wicket of Aiden Markram in his first over, leaving SRH at a dire 62/5 by the 11th over. SRH struggled to recover from this point, failing to build any substantial partnerships.

KKR’s Dominant Chase

Chasing a modest target of 114, KKR’s batsmen approached the task with confidence and aggression. Venkatesh Iyer led the charge, remaining unbeaten on 52 off just 26 balls, ensuring that KKR crossed the finish line with a staggering 57 balls to spare.

The openers provided a solid start, and despite losing a couple of wickets, the victory was never in doubt. Iyer’s fluent innings included powerful shots all around the ground, effectively neutralizing any hope SRH had of staging a comeback.


  • SRH Innings: 113 all out (20 overs)
    • Key wickets: Abhishek Sharma (bowled by Starc), Travis Head (first-ball duck), Rahul Tripathi (caught behind off Starc)
  • KKR Bowling:
    • Starc: 2/14
    • Russell: 3/19
    • Rana: 2/24
  • KKR Chase: 114/2 (10.3 overs)
    • Venkatesh Iyer: 52* (26 balls)

This commanding victory not only underscored KKR’s superiority on the day but also added a third IPL trophy to their cabinet. Their comprehensive performance in the final was a testament to their balanced team composition and strategic brilliance throughout the tournament.

Google News

Latest Stories

Related Articles

You May Like: