Shubman Gill Shines Bright with the Polly Umrigar Award for 2022-23

In the realm of cricketing excellence, Shubman Gill, the 24-year-old prodigy, has emerged as India’s latest sensation, clinching the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award for the Best International Cricketer in the Men’s category for the year 2022-23. This accolade, bestowed upon Gill, serves as a testament to his outstanding performances throughout the 2022-23 season.

A Stellar Season: Gill’s Dominance in Numbers

Gill’s bat spoke volumes in the 2022-23 season, where he showcased his cricketing prowess by amassing an impressive 1325 runs in 25 matches. His innings were punctuated by a remarkable display against New Zealand, where he notched up a staggering 208 runs in an ODI clash, leaving an indelible mark on the cricketing landscape.

Reflecting on the Journey: Gill’s Nostalgic Instagram Moment

In a touching reflection on his cricketing journey, Shubman Gill took to Instagram to express his nostalgia, reminiscing about his humble beginnings at the age of 14. He fondly recalled meeting his idols and legends for the first time, citing Virat Kohli’s cricketer of the year win as pure motivation to strive for excellence. Gill’s commitment shines through as he pledges to “give everything” for his country in the upcoming year.

Past Honorees: A Glimpse into the Prestigious Polly Umrigar Award

Mohammed Shami: Best International Cricketer 2019-20

In the annals of cricketing history, Mohammed Shami, the Best International Cricketer for the year 2019-20, stands tall. His exceptional performance included scalping 77 wickets in 30 matches, boasting an average of 19.81 and an economy of 4.06. Shami graciously acknowledged the honor at the Naman Awards ceremony, expressing gratitude and pledging to continue giving his best for the team.

Ravichandran Ashwin: Triumph Despite Limited Appearances 2020-21

The subsequent year saw Ravichandran Ashwin being honored with the Polly Umrigar Award, despite making only seven appearances. His bowling prowess was evident as he claimed 44 wickets, with a standout performance featuring a bowling figure of 6/61 against England in Chennai. Ashwin’s ability to make an impact in limited appearances adds a unique chapter to the legacy of the Polly Umrigar Award.

Jasprit Bumrah: The Reigning Best International Cricketer 2021-22

The latest recipient before Shubman Gill, Jasprit Bumrah, etched his name in the annals of the Polly Umrigar Award for the year 2021-22. Bumrah’s phenomenal year included bagging 35 wickets in 15 appearances, showcasing an economy of 3.27. His standout moment came with a best bowling figure of 5/24 against Sri Lanka in Bengaluru, solidifying his position as a cricketing force to be reckoned with.

Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award: A Touch of Honor

In a moment of celebration, legends Farokh Engineer and Ravi Shastri were honored with the prestigious Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award. This esteemed recognition was presented by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Roger Binny and BCCI secretary Jay Shah, adding a touch of grandeur to the Indian cricketing landscape.

Google News

Latest Stories

Related Articles

You May Like: