West Indies Announces Squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Hetmyer Returns, Mayers Omitted

West Indies, the two-time world champions, have unveiled their squad for the much-anticipated T20 World Cup 2024, slated to commence from June 1 to June 29 in the USA and the Caribbean. Rovman Powell will lead the squad in this global extravaganza, with Alzarri Joseph serving as his vice-captain.

The squad boasts the return of Shimron Hetmyer, who was absent from the recent T20I series against Australia, adding depth and experience to the batting lineup. Rising star Shamar Joseph, known for his explosive batting prowess, earns a well-deserved spot in the squad, highlighting the team’s focus on youth and talent.

However, the absence of Kyle Mayers, who featured prominently in the series against Australia, comes as a notable omission from the squad, raising eyebrows among fans and pundits alike.

Cricket West Indies has opted not to list any reserve players for the tournament, underlining the confidence in the selected squad’s ability to deliver on the big stage.

The announcement positions West Indies as the tenth team to unveil its squad for the global showdown, joining the ranks of other cricketing powerhouses such as India, New Zealand, England, Australia, and South Africa.

West Indies (WI) Squad for T20 World Cup 2024:

  1. Rovman Powell (Captain)
  2. Alzarri Joseph (Vice-Captain)
  3. Johnson Charles
  4. Roston Chase
  5. Shimron Hetmyer
  6. Jason Holder
  7. Shai Hope
  8. Akeal Hosein
  9. Shamar Joseph
  10. Brandon King
  11. Gudakesh Motie
  12. Nicholas Pooran
  13. Andre Russell
  14. Sherfane Rutherford
  15. Romario Shepherd

The announcement sets the stage for an exhilarating tournament, as West Indies aims to reclaim T20 cricket’s ultimate prize on home soil.

Google News

Latest Stories

Related Articles

You May Like: